16 Jan

The place of Gyatri Chants at home or in the car deck on way to work is inspiring the metro-sexual citizen to establish contact with the divine power, grace and the conscious electric energy which surrounds the mind, intellect, heart and the inner self. It inspires man towards righteous wisdom. The power of the mantra is so great that the chants of Gyatri touches the intellectual field of the person and dispels all negativity and darkness of evil thoughts, false ego and imparts knowledge and spiritual growth bringing in peace, joy, contentment and excellent mental, emotional and spiritual joy. Goddess Gayatri’s relationship through the Mantra is supreme and super-most. Absence of true knowledge makes man unhappy and Gayatri is a supreme truth of existence and divine bliss.

 Ved means knowledge and the four branches of knowledge are Rig, Yaju, Sam and Atharva. The current of knowledge of all living beings flows in the four directions. Rig represents – Welfare, Yaju-Virility, Sam-Recreation and Atharva-Wealth. These are the four faces of Brahma. Through Lord Brahma there is an outflow of four currents of knowledge, knowledge which is called Ved manifesting in these four branches, this is also the secret behind the arms of lord Vishnu. The chaitanya power of Lord Brahma described in the ancient scriptures is called Gayatri, she is the mother of four Vedas and therefore called Vedamata Gayatri.

 Gayatri mantra consist of twentyfour letters and every letter is based on elements. Each and every branch and sub-branch of vedic literature is manifested through these 24 letters. Brahma the creator scintillated the idea of creation and the vibration resulted into shakti. This shakti created jad and chetan. The jad is governed by nature (prakriti) and chetan is governed by shakti which is savitri. Brahma created the material world of the five elements. These elements pervades the entire universe known as prana and the categories of pranatatva are satva, rajas and tamo gunas. These categories of the soul constitute astral (sookshma), causal(karana) and physical (sthula) sharira and all living beings owe the consciousness and existence to this pranatatva. Gayatri has three phases and is called tripada which fulfills the three purposes, spiritual, mental and physical. The powers of Saraswati, Laxmi and Kali are also obtained through Gayatri sadhana, she is the mother of divine powers.

The spine is given a great importance in yoga. Spine is the foundation and the most vital part of the body. Our spinal cord consists of 33 vertebrae according to the medical science and according to the Indian philosophy there are 33 crores of devs and devtas and their powers are found centred in these. So taking care of your spine is taking care of 33 crores of devtas and worshipping them. The three nerve centers which,  are very important in the spine are the ida, pingala and sushmumna, they are nonphysical and belong to the subtle world. Ida deals with the mental energy is the negative force which flows through the left side and called chandra nadi according to modern science referred to as  the parasympathetic nervous system and pingala deals with the life force is the positive energy which, flows through the right side and called the surya nadi and referred as sympathetic nervous system. Electricity is produced when the negative and the positive current meet and when both the currents meet a power  is produced which is called the sushmumna, the spiritual power  the power which resides in the central nervous system. It is like the meeting ofGangaand the Yamnuna and the current which produces through the meeting gives rise to Saraswati. The confluence of these meet is called triveni

Gyatri is triapad Gyatri is triveni and Gyatri is Vedmata. So let us invoke  the powers of Gyatri to cure psychosomatic diseases like blood pressure, stress, depression, insomnia, nervous tension and lack of concentration through the  Gyatri mantra in the form of pranayama  to lead a healthy peaceful life.

Part 1OMBhur Bhuvaha Swaha

Part 2OMTatsaviturvareniyam Bhargo Devasaya Dheemahi

Part 3 Om Dhiya YoNahaPrachodayat


In part 1  you inhale through your right nostril blocking the left nostril with the little finger of your right hand, in part 2 you hold the breath inside the body closing the right nostril with the thumb, in part 3 you exhale through the left nostril releasing the little finger and in part 4 you hold the breath outside after a complete exhalation. Repeat the round by inhaling now through the left nostril in part 1 holding the breath by blocking the left nostril for part 2 exhaling through the right nostril in part 3 and holding the breath outside for part 4.

By doing this in a continuous round for five minutes you are able to relax and soothe your nerves, the nerve centers, the physical, psychological and emotional being. This pranayama needs to be done in the morning on an empty stomach after your ablutions and bath. Done every morning sincerely and religiously will show results to you meaningfully in days to come.

Pranayama the fourth and the most important Anga of Ashtanga yoga is a unique universal life-force to gain supremacy of breathing and giving gift to life. The eternal breathing of yoga consists of four parts Pooraka (disciplined complete inhalation) Abhyantara Kumbhaka (retaining the air within the lungs for a proportionate period after pooraka) Rechaka (disciplined complete exhalation) and Bhayakumbhaka ( breath held outside the body for a proportionate period after rechaka). The ratio with respect to each other is fixed as 1:4:2:4.  In the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali Chapter II verse 50, the world renowned Yoga Guru Shri B K S Iyengarji explains the meaning of this sutra thus “Inhalation moves from the core of being – towards the consciousness. The inbreath is made to touch the five sheaths of the body. Bracing of the in-breath is the evolution of the soul or the ascending order of the purusa. When the self comes in contact with the physical body, inhalation is complete. Here the purusa embraces prakrti. The outbreath moves from the external body towards the seer, layer after layer. It is involution or the descending order of prakrti to meet its Lord, purusa. If the in-breath is the divine union of purusa with prakrti, the outbreath is the union of prakrti with purusa.”

In the fourth chapter of Bhagawad Gita it is said that Pranayama is a kind of Yajna (a sacrificial fire). In this Yajna, it is said that “Prana is sacrificed into Apana and Apana in turn is sacrificed into Prana. In other words, the importance of Pranayama is as much as that of a Yajna. Those who perform Pranayama daily and properly need not do any other rituals because pranayama itself is a Yajna, a highest ritual”.

One who performs the Gyatri sadhana with devotion daily invites the power of the Mother to become pure and get liberated.


About the Author:

Carrmine Ireene: 

Author, Yoga Teacher, Consultant & Holistic Healer

Carrmine Ireene is a  yoga teacher and a holistic healer  who has received her training under the direct guidance of Shri Nimbalkar Guruji. A rank-holding teacher of Shri Nimbalkar’s Institution and a practitioner of Shri Iyengar Guruji’s system of yoga, she has to her credit prize certificates, awards & mementos. She is also a follower of Swami Satyananda Saraswatiji’s teachings as well

You can contact her at:




  1. GAYATRI PRANAYAMA FOR LIFE AND LONGEVITY « mangalk - January 19, 2012


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: